Strictly: Starters

So this is it, the first official post in my shiny new Singapore blog, from my first night in Singapore!

IMG_0294
Some free wine and interestingly flavoured pretzels to calm my flight nerves.

I fully intended to publish this one before I left the UK but, unsurprisingly, that didn’t go so well. If I had done I would have written some stuff along the lines of: “I will not vom on the plane, no one likes projectile in a confined space.” and “I hope there are some decent films to while away my journey.” Well, I didn’t chuck (result!) and the entertainment system on the plane was down so there was absolutely nothing to watch or do, which was brilliant. Not. I also learned that it is so not worth doing a stopover. Traipsing off a plane and through a rickety old security shed before sitting in the departures lounge of Ho Chi Minh airport at what my body was telling me was 2am was not fun, and the 2 hour plane journey from there to Singapore was even worse. Life lesson: just fly direct, it’s so much less hassle.

IMG_0295
All airports look the same. Seriously. This is Vietnam, but it could easily be Gatwick on a sunny day.

But now I’m here, and I’ve managed to sleep through my entire first afternoon, meaning that I have nothing at all to report. I’m not entirely sure whereabouts I am, although there’s a lovely main road outside my hotel window which is really selling Singapore to me. I also unfortunately forgot to bring any tea bags, meaning that the only thing I have to drink is something ominously named ‘instant tea mix’. Safe to say I can’t even bring myself to open the packet, let alone ingest what’s inside it.

IMG_0296
Just no

IMG_0300

Hopefully things will pick up tomorrow, or at least I’ll find out where to get some breakfast.

IMG_0303
The chocolate reindeer travelled thousands of miles relatively unscathed only to be eaten in 40 seconds flat.

Leah out X

Leave a Reply

